Drama Class—An Cosan

I started a Drama class, in An Cosan, Jobstown  in  September  2014.  I was very nervous at first, but  I  need  not  have  been  as  it  turned  out  to  be  great  fun.   Our  Tutor  was  called  Kiera,  and  there  was  about  16  in  the  class.  We  played  games  and did  improvisation.  At  the start  of  each  class  we  did  a  check  in  just  to  see  how  everyone  was  feeling, we   also  did some warm  up  excises.  The   classes  have  really  boosted  my  confidence  no  end.  In  the  improvisation  Kiera  suggests  a  topic,  for  instance  there  are  people  waiting  in   a  Doctors  Surgery and you have to make a good excuse  to get  in  front  of  the  first  person.  I   said  I  was  crippled  with pains  and got sick on  the person  in  front  of  me  ( not  really ).  It  was  great  fun.  It   really  stretched  the  imagination.

We  also  play  games  where  you  have  to  remember  everyone’s  name   and  cross  over  when  you  call  them,  it  is  very  good  for  concentration.  In  January  we  started  to rehearse  for our play in  June,  it was  called Waterworks,  it  was  a  comedy  about  water  rates,  very  topical.   We  were  each  given  a  script  to learn  our  lines  and  told  which  person  we  would  be.  I  was  a  girl  called  Norma who  was into  flower  power,  and  was mad  about  plants.  Coming up yo  when  it  was  on  we rehearsed  every  day  it was  hard  learning the  lines  at  first,  as  I  have  never  done  this  before.   The play  was  on in  Red  Rua  in  the  Square,  Tallaght.  On  the  night  of  the  play  I  was  very  nervous just in  case  I went  blank    and  forgot  my  lines.  I  need  not  have  worried  as  everything  went  well.  Y  family  were  in  the  front  row  and  I  was  only  a  few  feet  away  from  them.  They  really  loved it  and  thought  it  was  hilarious  ,  they  were  so  proud  of  me.   We  did  two  shows  that night.  It  was the 25th June  and it   was  seven  euro  in  to  see  it.  I  am  going  back   in  September  for  another  term,  I   am   really  looking  forward  to  it.

I  would  highly recommend it to anyone, who likes to have fun and games.  It  is  free  but  we give  5 euro for tea  coffee  and  cakes.  The  open  day  to  sign  up  is  September  the 2nd  .  If  you  are coming from  Tallaght it  is  the  right  turn  at  the  lights  just  at  the  Jobstown  Pub,  straight  up  to  the  roundabout  and straight   through  it is on the left  hand  side  (An  Cosan  )  GOOD LUCK.

Leave a Reply

