All Irish Speaking Event

I heard about the Annual Oireachtas na Samhna festival recently. I turned up to Citywest last Thursday evening to see what it was all about as I knew it had already started. When I got there I got talking to the porter about the event, he wasn’t able to tell me much about it but he did tell me that you must be a fluent Irish speaker to participate. What really amazed me is when I got into the bar the place was full and everyone was speaking Irish. This was amazing and bizarre; I didn’t know that this type of thing really happens outside of the Gaeltacht. I walked away happy & a little disappointed; happy that I had witnessed what I witnessed and disappointed that I could participate any further. I arrived up to Citywest on the Friday, just to go for a drink and I found it was so packed I could hardly get in the front door so I turned around and walked away. Since, this, I researched the event to find out a little more and discovered Oireachtas na Samhna festival is Irelands longest running arts festival, and returned to Dublin this year. The festival took place between the 28th October and the 1st November in the Citywest Hotel. Events running over the weekend include the Comórtas Corn Uí Riada, in which Sean-Nós singers from around the country will compete to win a trophy, dramas such as The Wheelchair Monologues by Gearóid Ó Cairealláin and the Sean-Nós dancing competition which was broadcasted on TG4, Steip. Evening entertainment will include the infamous Cabaret Craicáilte, hosted by RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta’s Rónán Mac Aodha Bhuí. Comedian Al Porter took to the stage to host the Irish comedy club Gael Gáirí and music and dancing are the order of the night in the festivals own club, Club na Féile. The festival was open to all ages.

Leave a Reply

