OUR CREATIVE CORNER

My 50th Birthday

Adults in our family don’t really have parties unless they are decade birthdays, i.e: 30, 50, or half decades (45, 55).

My 50th party was a surprise arranged by my husband. He bought my favourite cake & champagne and dropped them off in the village pub. We have a mobile home (van on halting site) in Wexford. On the evening of my birthday I was not going to go to the village but my daughter made me put some makeup on. My husband had told all the people on the site and the locals. I was there about half an hour when, Helen, the owner, brought in cake with lots of candles. Everybody sang Happy Birthday. Then out came the champagne & strawberries. I was mortified and felt so loved and so happy that he had arranged everything. Helen even brought out her special wedding champagne glasses for us.

*********************

Missing You

Missing you Dad, love you so much,

You’re my rock, my best friend, my special friend.

*********************

One time, on going to school when I was very young, there was a dog who followed me. He looked like a cross breed, between a greyhound and God knows what. I think he was a stray and he would follow me everywhere. After school, I would feed him sandwiches that I didn’t eat. One time I was with my mother, we were walking to the shops and as usual the dog would follow. On crossing the road, the dog was nearly knocked down. I felt bad for the poor animal. I felt quite sad. I don’t know what happened after that but I hope he was not harmed or anything. And I guess he just fazed out of my life.

*********************

A time in my life when I was brave was when I was in an accident. I was knocked down in a road traffic accident as a pedestrian. I ended up in a coma for six weeks and had serious injuries: a broken pelvis, broken ribs, had broken my left leg in four places. My left ankle and right foot also had injuries. I lost eight pints of blood. I was crippled, in a wheelchair for four months. It took me two years to walk again and a lot of physiotherapy. The reason I am writing of this experience is because I was brave in the trauma I suffered and in the physical and emotional pain of it. I feel that this was a time in my life where I had to dig deep and be brave.

 

*********************

True friends are people who stay around even in tough times. This is the test of true friends. Fair weather friends are a dime-a-dozen; they can never be depended upon. True friends can be depended upon in all situations. I’m so grateful that I have quite a few really good friends. I enjoy their company on an evening out or hosting an evening at home.

True friends last a lifetime.

 

*********************

One Comment Add yours

  1. goirtineve says:

    Great writing in this post!

Leave a Reply

