Creative Corner 2nd June 2016

Your character thinks her boss is looking for an excuse to fire her. She decides to fight back.

‘You can’t fire me, I’ve been working here for over ten years now and have never missed a day’s work. There are laws against unfair dismissal. I have been loyal to this company for all of these years now so I would like you to take in what I’m talking to you about. So I will allow you the time to think about what you are going to do and hopefully you will come to terms with what I have told you.’

******

What’s black and white and eats like a horse?

A zebra.

What’s orange and sounds like a parrot?

A carrot

******

On Friday the 27th of May at 5 o’ clock, my sister Caroline picked me up at Ballydowd House on the Lucan Road and drove the car to Clonsilla train station. We got on the train at about 6 o’ clock and paid about 7 Euro for the train. We got off at Croke Park and walked up to it and outside the stadium. My sister bought me a hot dog and she had one herself. Then we went into the stadium at about 7.30pm. Bruce Springsteen came on stage. We listened to him for around 3 hours 30 mins to 3 hours 45 mins. Then when the concert was over we walked from Croke Park to the train station in the city centre. We went to Clonsilla and got in the car and drove back to Lucan where I got my cigarettes and got into the house about 12.55am. I had a cup of tea and smoked 6 cigarettes and then went to bed.

******

A Trip to Greystones

On Monday last, my friend, Patrick, who is a participant on the New Horizon course asked if I would like to get the train to Greystones and when we got there to walk the Cliff Walk.

It was a beautiful sunny day and we headed into town on the bus. We walked to Tara Street station and bought two rolls and two bottles of water for the walk. The train journey to Greystones was very pleasant and the views of the sea and mountains were wonderful.

When we reached Greystones we had our lunch, sitting on a bench overlooking the harbour and the sea. We then set out for the walk along the cliff to Bray. The walk was very pleasant and it was very comfortable and warm. A lot of people were also doing the walk and because of the good weather everybody seemed to be in a good mood, and also friendly.

When we reached Bray we had a cup of coffee. We then got the train into town and there was a nice atmosphere in the city, with a lot of people having beers and coffee and food. The two of us had a great time and a great laugh, and overall it was a great day.

Leave a Reply

