Creative Corner 07.07.16

 

 

The women’s group walked up to the square and went to Graham O’ Sullivan’s where we had tea and a scone for four Euros. Then we browsed around the shops. There were a couple of sales on in Vero Moda and Debenhams, where I tried on some nice perfumes. Everybody found that they were relaxed in a group atmosphere. We had a nice walk and chat on the way back.

 

*****

Men’s Group Outing to Dun Laoghaire

The men’s group went to Dun Laoghaire last Wednesday. There were four of us that went. The weather was very bad. It was lashing rain. We all got the 75 bus out there. The bus journey was very nice. It took about 1 hour for us to get out there. When we got out there we walked along the pier. There were not many people walking the pier. Some of us bought an ice cream from Teddy’s ice cream van. It was really nice when we got back to the main street. We had a lovely cup of coffee in McDonalds. The facilitator gave us money to buy a meal for ourselves. We went into a pub and we all had bacon and cabbage. It was a very enjoyable day out.

 

*****

Health and Wellbeing

 

I strive every day for better mental and physical health. I’m trying to cut back on chocolate bars. I’m trying to cut back on cigarettes. I used to smoke 17 cigs per day. I’m now down to between 7-8 per day.

I attend New Horizon. The course is very positive, the staff are very helpful. I’m trying to increase my health by walking 1 hr per day. The week in New Horizon varies from day to day. On Monday we plan out the week ahead. Tuesday mornings we go to Rua Red to see a film. In the afternoon we go to the wellbeing café. The food in New Horizon is very nice. We have a different meal each day.

 

*****

 

Grandchildren

Grandchildren are a gift from God, they bring such life to the house. It is so much easier to look after grandchildren than looking after your own children.

Every Saturday I bring the children to Bray or Howth for the day. The children love going by train. They play on the sand, then we have a picnic and go for a walk. Then they love going to the playground.

The children are growing up fast. We need to make the most of them while they are young. But best of all is handing them back to their parents at the end of the day.

 

*****

 

Jesus Christ

 

I was born on the 30th of January 1974, in the Coombe Hospital Dublin, in Our Lady’s ward in the hospital. When I was brought home up to the age of 1 year and ten months old, I walked from the Sitting room out to the hall where I ran into the kitchen and pulled down the boiling hot water on myself. I was brought to Our Lady’s Hospital in Crumlin where I underwent plastic surgery and spent six weeks in the hospital. When I was there in the bed I got up and went around the hospital and found the nurse’s uniform and threw them over the balcony down on the ground and then I got the babies up out of bed and poured them out some lemonade and biscuits and sat them up in the beds. It was All Souls day when I burnt myself.

I had a good relation with my mother and father and brother and sister. When I was 6 or 7, I joined the altar boys in the church and was part of the church for 7 years and I made my holy communion in 1982. When I think about it back then I think about God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. When I came to my own conclusion I would believe in the Holy Spirit and the reading in the church said there is not a lot mentioned about the Holy Spirit in the bible, but when it comes to me I find it very important to believe in the Holy Spirit. I think it is a real protection for me in life until the day I die.

 

*****

God is Love

Many object to the fact that God is Love, they say that because there are so many murders and wars in the world, but God is not responsible for man’s inhumanity to man. He has given us free will, we can make choices of our own, whether good or bad. God can hardly be blamed for man’s inhumanity to man. Sadly, many reject the teaching that God is Love.

God sent his only Son into the world to die a horribly cruel death. Jesus did this, willing to show his love for mankind, even his enemies (‘Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.’

I have experienced this Love and Forgiveness. He has given me the Free Gift of eternal life. You can have it too by coming to Jesus in faith and be assured you will receive eternal life and be ready when he returns soon or when you die, whichever comes first.

 

*****

Grass Cutting

Like dusting is a waste of time, we have miles and miles of grass verge in this country, in and around estates where we live. When grass is cut it grows back stronger and the ground gets harder and harder. What if we did not cut the grass? What if we only cut them once a year? We could leave all the wild flowers to bloom in all their glory, spring and summer.

 

Instead of green we could have bright yellows; brilliant white, purple and pinks, a full rainbow of colours. It would save a lot of man hours cutting grass and we, the birds and bees, would benefit from all the flower and pollen.

 

*****

 

Euro 2016

Hard to believe that there were 24 countries. We were in the ‘group of death’ with Belgium, Italy and Sweden. We weren’t expected to get out of the group stage. The first two matches left us with only 1 point – the last 16 looked very bleak. We went into the final match facing an in form Italian team. The prospect of us coming third in the group was , as they say, ‘in the lap of the gods’. We had to win. The nation were gripped, watching, hoping, praying for that elusive goal to come. Then in the dying minutes a bit of magic came in the form of Brady with his glancing header past the goalkeeper to put us through to the knockout stage. The country was electrified, the fans over in France acted as if we had won the entire competition. The prize for coming third was a trip to play the host nation, France. We knew it was a hard match but the boys in green were more than ready. That match started with an absolutely amazing penalty and we found ourselves a little country on the outskirts of Europe, ahead of  the mighty host nation. Then cam the nail biting, the shouts at the ref for each decision against us. The nerves of the nation lay on how successful we could be in the next 80-90 minutes or so. We held on until the second half and then disaster struck. Two goals by the French crushed our dreams of carrying the cup with Republic of Ireland engraved on it forever. We were outclassed by an on form host nation. France went through to the last 8 and the boys in green came home to a hero’s welcome. They did our country proud, onwards and upwards for the next tournament.

Leave a Reply

