Poetry – Listening

We wanted to share this poem as when we heard it, it struck a cord up with us.

It made us feel quite emotional and hopeful people can listen if they try.

Enjoy!!

When I ask you to listen to me

And you start giving me advice,

You have not done what I asked.

When I ask you to listen to me as I tell

You how I feel and you begin

To tell me why I shouldn’t feel that way,

You are tramping with my feelings.

When I ask you listen to me as

I tell you how it is for me and you

Think you have to do something to

Solve my problems, you have failed me.

Listen all I ask is that you listen.

Not talk. Not do. Just listen,

Advice is cheap.

60 cents will get me both,

“ Dear Abby” and “Billy Graham”

In the same magazine.

And I can do for myself. I am not helpless.

Maybe discouraged and faltering, but not helpless.

When you do something for me that I can and need

To do for myself, you contribute to my fear and inadequacy,

And encourage my dependency.

When you accept as simple fact that I feel no

Matter how irrational, then I can quit trying to convince you

And I can set about trying to understand what is behind this

Irrational feeling.

And when that is clear, the answers are obvious and I don’t

Need advice. Irrational feelings make sense when we can

Hear ourselves figuring out what maybe behind them,

And sometimes we can only do that if someone

Is listening.

Perhaps that is how prayer works. God just listens

And lets us figure out stuff for ourselves.

So, please listen and just hear me. And if you to

Talk, wait a minute for your turn and I will listen to you..

Leave a Reply

