A Visit to Chester Beatty Library

Myself and another participant from New Horizon visited the Chester Beatty Library on the 21st of July 2017. They have an art exhibition with several different sections. I noticed that much of the art was composed of people and their background and I realised that in the past a method of preserving a scene or an event was to draw or paint it. Some of the art was printed and descriptions of different printing methods were displayed. One section had manuscripts in different styles including religious and secular scripts. There were calligraphy on display and book covers made from what I assume to be leather. These often had designs some of which had been textured and been painted or inlaid with gold. They have a dedicated area for Japanese art and some interesting pieces of furniture. They have a gift shop and restaurant. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and as I like to create art myself I found inspiration in the skill of the artists presented. Really worth a visit.

26/07/17 Farayi

Leave a Reply

