BACK FROM THE EDGE

I am writing today to talk about depression and how New Horizon helped me back from despair.

It is a lonely and dark place to be in when all you think about is suicide and that everyone would be better off without you.

Depression knows no bounds it tricks you into losing all hope. It eats away at your very soul and you feel less than human.

I have tried to commit suicide so many times that all the nurses in A+E know me well.

I have 2 children and 4 grandchildren who I love very much, if only I could love myself the same way.

One day when I was at my lowest point I went to the doctor in Mary Mercer, it was the last chance for me I had enough

I just couldn’t take anymore ,I just wanted to close my eyes and never wake up.

The doctor rang New Horizon to see if they could take me. They said yes.

The day I started in New Horizon was the turning point in my life. I was given hope for the future, the people there made me feel good about myself again.

I am looked upon by my peers with respect and dignity, I could not believe people took the time to listen to me.

I can honestly say if it wasn’t for New Horizon and meeting new friends, I don’t think I would be here today.

I wish to thank my wife Cathy for being by my side in good times and bad.

I would just like to say , if you are in a dark place right now please don’t give up hope, talk to someone.

I am now in a happy place and look forward to getting out of bed and coming into New Horizon

I have much more energy these days and have more quality time for the family.

I now know that I am worth  having around and I have a lot to give to people.

I wish to thank all at New Horizon and all my family for their ongoing support.

Image for Michaels piece

Leave a comment