Poetry Corner

The following poems were written as part of our Creative Writing group that was held in our last timetable here in New Horizon. In this post we are sharing some of those poems we wrote.  We hope you enjoy them.

Memories

Living inside a life full of colour

Wondering where, when or why is another

Blooming and making my heart thunder

The calling of my heart lies another

Feeling my heart strike a flutter

Is it love, longing or memories of another?

Nothing much to take my heart a flutter

Not a silent word for me to utter

My heart can be alone and free

Making no guilt from my soul free

In my heart there will always be

Memories are the key for my soul

To be free and fly and soar

My heart will beat strong forever and

There my heart will be in memories

The Salt of the Sea

Being awake during the light of day

No price for me to pay

Looking onward and starboard now

Feeling the icy soft touch of the wind

The bite of the wind was a hit to my bitterness

I shall not be smitten or bitten

A bitter taste

It is the salt of the sea.

Not something I was to be

Positive thoughts are open arms for me

Continuous kindness is to be for me

I won’t taste the salt of the sea

The sea would taste bitter to me

 A cake would be more appreciated

The strength I have to be liberated

There is no salt in the sea for me

  A Bright Day

            Sunny days, blue skies,

Birds singing, babies cries.

Running stream, waterfalls,

Lakes and rivers, a ducks call.

8 o’clock, sleepy head,

Time to get up, out of bed.

Open the curtains, daylights say,

Windows open, start of a new bright day.

Gerard.

Leave a comment